TLA: Prototype Stage 1 Complete Photos

It’s been a bit since my last post, and I certainly didn’t want to imply the project was dead or stalled, just that I wanted to complete the prototype stage stage 1 (pan + truck movements, camera control, remote control, housing for motor control, etc.) before making another post.

Obviously, the craftsmanship is a little rough, but I’m pressed for time as I leave for a week in the backcountry of Big Bend in three weeks, and I wanted to get a lot of experience using it before relying on it out there.

So, without further ado, here’re some photos and the next post will follow-up with a much more detailed description of how everything works.

track, control box, remote control

track, control box, remote control

remote control / UI unit

remote control / UI unit

motor control box (acrylic, aluminum)

motor control box (acrylic, aluminum)

pan motor, camera, 12V DC, DB9 for remote

connections: pan motor, camera, 12V DC, DB9 for remote

inside of motor control box

inside of motor control box

arduino, 3x easydriver, stepper, gears, optocoupler, wires..

arduino, 3x easydriver, stepper, gears, optocoupler, wires..

camera on cart, hooked up (2.5mm jack)

camera on cart, hooked up (2.5mm jack)

cart coupled to worm drive shaft

cart coupled to worm drive shaft

pan molex connector

pan molex connector

truck drive gearing detail

truck drive gearing detail

~ by c.a. church on August 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “TLA: Prototype Stage 1 Complete Photos”

  1. Hi Church. Hope you are well. Recently I discovered that the easydriver setup I have posted on my blog does weird things when I slow it down to say, 1 step every second. The motor moves for 4 intervals and then it’s as if it does nothing for 4 intervals. Then the cycle repeats in thefashion I just described. I was wondering if you could share some code and or circuit diagrams with your TLA setup I’m just looking of the bare bones loop. I have been running the motor at much higher speeds until now, hence the oversight. I’d be most grateful for any ideas.

    Dan.

    p.s. my mail is frankenegger at gmail dot com

  2. As usual,
    If you look hard enough the answer is already out there in cyberspace 🙂 It turns out that I just needed to adjust the pot on the easydriver board to get the move the way it should. I found the answer on this forum thread http://forum.sparkfun.com/viewtopic.php?t=9289&highlight=easydriver

Leave a Reply

 
