TLA – Prototype UI Video

Here’s a video of the prototype UI in action. I spent some time this weekend cleaning up the software and making sure all of the timing and status updates worked. (I’ve fixed the lack of zero-padding in the position decimal values since making the video.)

This weekend turned out to be a disaster for my pan servo, I had forgotten to re-calibrate everything after disassembling it for mounting, and ended up thrashing the potentiometer for the kit. Oh well, I went ahead and ordered another one from ServoCity and will finish testing that all of my load calculations were correct.

This being my first project of the sort, and everything needing to be learned as I go along, I feel I’m making good progress. It does seem like there’s still a lot of cleaning up and fabricating left to do. I decided to scrap the current track as I felt it was too heavy and downright ugly. Picked up some aluminum material to work with this past weekend, and will re-build the track next week.

~ by c.a. church on July 8, 2008.

4 Responses to “TLA – Prototype UI Video”

  1. Really cool stuff! I’m sure you’ve mentioned it somewhere, but could you tell me what Arduino Library you are using for the LCD Display?

    I’m working on my interface at the moment and I’m using the 4-bit LCD library http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/LCD4BitLibrary .

    I can’t seem to print an integer unless it’s in quotes. I noticed in your video you have numbers iterating nicely. Wondered if you could point me to some example code that uses numbers instead of characters. Keep up the great work!

  2. Actually, I think I’ve found what I’m looking for. It’s C a function called itoa. It’s on the bottom of this page. http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/LCD .

  3. Dan, for the display of numeric values, I use itoa() and ultoa(). To keep the code simple, I create a character buffer large enough to hold the UL conversion string, and then use a switch statement to determine which value is being displayed – populate the buffer and print it.

    For left/right values, I use a boolean and then show ‘left’ if its 0, and ‘right’ if its 1.

    Working with the keypad is a little more difficult, and the handling of input is actually the longest function at about 450 lines. Essentially, I switch between input modes based on what key is pressed where, and on the next input I determine how to treat it based on the current mode. ‘*’ Has different meaning from the main menu, within setup, when entering a value in setup, and when in manual control mode. When entering a value in the setup screen, each input key is put into a char buffer as a char, and then when the value is completed (by hitting ‘*’) — at this point, the buffer is passed to another function along with the current position. strtoul() and atoi() handle the conversion from the buffer to the actual data type.

    !c

  4. Hey thanks again for this. Very helpful. I hope to use a push button rotary eventually instead of a keypad. But for now all my positioning will be handled by maya and then I will written to a text file ready to upload to the Arduino. Man I love this stuff. Robots are so cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
